Palace Announces Complete List of Holidays in the Philippines for 2013

Except for Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha, which dates are not yet determined, all the holidays for 2013 had been declared by the Malacanang Palace under Proclamation 459.

It was only now that I realized that we have quite a number of long weekends for the current year. Seven? But these long weekends will be down to four in 2013.

February 25th, succeeding a weekend, is the EDSA Revolution Anniversary which is a special holiday. Black Saturday, March 30th next year, was declared as a special non-working holiday so that’s four non-working days from Maundy Thursday until Easter Sunday.

Our Yahoo! source only mentioned 3, overlooking the long weekend that includes the National Heroes Day next year which is August 26th, last Monday of the month. The fourth long weekend for 2013 is the weekend prior to Rizal Day, December 30th, which falls on a Monday. And that’s succeeded by Dec. 31st, another non-working day which is the last day of the year.

If you would care to examine, the Feb. 25th special holiday is for schools only. But take note below that November 2, All Souls Day, was also declared a non-working day and that falls on a Saturday so might as well include that in the long weekend list.

REGULAR HOLIDAYS
New Year’s Day, Jan. 1 (Tuesday)
Maundy Thursday, Mar. 28
Good Friday, Mar. 29
Araw ng Kagitingan, Apr. 9 (Tuesday)
Labor Day, May 1 (Wednesday)
Independence Day, June 12 (Wednesday)
National Heroes Day, Aug. 26 (Last Monday of August)
Bonifacio Day, Nov. 30 (Saturday)
Christmas Day, Dec. 25 (Wednesday)
Rizal Day, Dec. 30 (Monday)

List of holidays in the Philippines for 2013

SPECIAL NON-WORKING HOLIDAYS
Black Saturday, Mar. 30
Ninoy Aquino Day, Aug. 21 (Wednesday)
All Saints Day, Nov. 1 (Friday)
Additional special (non-working) days
-Nov. 2 (Saturday)
-Dec. 24 (Tuesday)
Last Day of the Year, Dec. 31 (Tuesday)

SPECIAL HOLIDAY (FOR ALL SCHOOLS)
EDSA Revolution Anniversary, Feb. 25 (Monday)

It may be too early for these holidays to be announced because usually, we only get to know about this on the latter part of the year or the first week of the new year. At least you can plan your vacations as early as now! :)

Source: ph.news.yahoo.com